Shiferaw Shigutie, Chair of the Southern Ethiopian Peoples’ Democratic Movement (SEPDM), one of the four members of the ruling Ethiopian Peoples’ Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF), resigns from his post at a formal proceeding of the party’s Executive Committee held in Addis Ababa, today.

Shiferaw assumed the chairmanship on February 26, 2018 following the resignation of the party chair and the Prime Minister of the country, Hailemeariam Dessalegn. Shiferaw was appointed as Minister for Agriculture and Livestock Resources in the new Cabinet of Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed (PhD).

It is to be recalled that PM Abiy has called up on the regional ranks of the party to resign following the deadly conflicts in Hawassa, Wolaitta Sodo and Wolkite.

In a briefing Shiferaw held following his resignation, he said that the reason for his resignation is the conflict in these areas. His resignation is from the chairmanship and the executive committee membership. He said that he will continue serving as member of the Central Committee of the party.

Source: TheReporterEthiopia