The Council of the ruling EPRDF has elected Abiy Ahmed (PhD) its third chairman today.

The candidate from the OPDO, Abiy Ahmed (PhD), has carried a landslide votes of 108 against his rivals from SPDM, Shiferaw Shigute, who has received 59 votes and TPLF’s Debretsion Gebremichael’s (PhD), who did get only two votes, sources disclosed Fortune.

The candidate from the ANDM, Demeke Mekonnen, has declined to accept a bid for the chairmanship of the EPRDF last minute, paving the way for many of the Council members voting for OPDO’s candidate, Abiy Ahmed (PhD), people close to the process told Fortune.

This led many of the Council members from the TPLF voting for a candidate other than their chairman, Debretsion Gebremichael (PhD), who has managed to receive only two votes.

Source : AddisFortune